How can YOU bless ME? Let me count the ways!

James 2:17
So also faith, if it does not have works (deeds and actions of obedience to back it up), by itself is destitute of power (inoperative, dead).

Today was a fabulous day.  One of the best of the summer.  Why was it so fabulous?  Because it was filled with so many emotions that have been missing from my life: excitement, abandonment,  joy, anticipation, thrill-ation, angst, fear and  pleasure.  Excitement at what I had gone and done; abandonment because I set aside me and focused on Him ( I obeyed!  I obeyed!);  joy at the planning, picking, and choosing of the gift and its message; the sheer deliciousness of the anticipation of waiting for it to be discovered; thrill-ation at the thought of the “Hildy…” I would hear in a serious tone that would then be cast aside, replaced by, if not understanding, then acceptance; angst at a snafoo that ruined the grandeur of the surprise; fear that the gift would be misunderstood, even refused; and (finally!) pleasure that the snafoo didn’t matter and the gift was received as intended and accepted as offered.  But best of all was the fact that I set aside my wishes and obeyed the leading of my Father.  If I had not obeyed, if I would have rationalized away this gift, I would not have experienced any of these emotions today, and honestly, they were worth every penny.  Every penny.

Leave a Reply

