Puhleeze, Quit Already!

Mark 15:4-5

So again Pilate asked him, “Aren’t you going to answer? See how many things they are accusing you of.”  But Jesus still made no reply, and Pilate was amazed.

Navigating the waters of office politics and be enervating and frustrating.  With ignorant speech and haughty demeanor a lone individual can, in the blink of an eye, destroy the esprit de corps within a workplace thus providing a perfect opportunity to exercise your spiritual muscles.  Over the summer my department had several unpleasant encounters with a nasty individual who is firmly emplanted within the company.  He attackes liberally with intent to demean,  he is sarcastic and unprofessional and he has been allowed to maintain this attitude for more than thirty years!  So, how can we tolerate this individual who accuses and points out errors in companywide harrangues?  Well, if we want to be like Jesus, we say nothing.  We choose not to defend our reputation.  Ugh, how hard is that?  How much do we want to get angry and respond in kind?  Is it really possible for me to say I love you, which I don’t want to say, instead of shove it where the sun doesn’t shine, buddy, which is what I really want to say?  Do I really think I can respond like Jesus did and choose to remain silent when my reputation is being publicly battered? Well, yes, I can, but I surmise it will take a bit of smashing down of the old flesh nature.  Even so, I am determined that the next time I have the opportunity I am going to choose to respond as Jesus did and say nothing, maybe even extend myself and offer kindness or even, blech (sorry, excuse me, I’m choking over the word,) offer love.

Leave a Reply

